Sports Awards Dinner is a Smash Hit
Sports Awards Dinner is a Smash Hit

The inaugural Sporting Club Sports Awards Gala Dinner turned out to be a resounding success on Thursday night at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London. In front of an audience of 400 guests ten awards were handed out by A list presenters, whilst we were treated to some superb acts. The awards were:

Influencer of the Year - Presented by Brian McFadden to Tottenham and England player Danny Rose. Sponsored by NSPCC.

Sporting Moment of the Year - Presented by Nick Knowles to Mike Tindall on behalf of England rugby for the haka response - Sponsored by Native.

Coach of the Year - Presented by John Barnes to Jurgen Klopp - Sponsored by Jura.

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year – Presented by Ant Middleton to Hannah Cockcroft - Sponsored by La Fête.

Olympian of the Year – Presented by Baroness Tanni Grey -Thompson to Max Whitlock - Sponsored by FR Events.

Sporting Comeback of the Year – Presented by Max Whitlock to Liverpool FC - Sponsored by Templar.

International Sport Star of the Year – Presented by Zinzan Brooke to Siya Kolisi - Sponsored by Sean Downs Wealth Management.

Sportswoman of the Year – Presented by Eoin Morgan to Katarina Johnson – Thompson. Sponsored by Thomas Lyte.

Sportsman of the Year – Presented by Christine Ohuruogu to Ben Stokes - Sponsored by Source One Associates.

Sports Team of the Year – Presented by Dame Katherine Grainger to Eoin Morgan on behalf of England ODI Cricket Team - Sponsored by Livetree.

We were also treated to two songs from former Westlife star Brian McFadden, a memorable rap from John Barnes and a haka from Zinzan Brooke, whilst Max Whitlock walked on his hands to enter the stage and presenter Ant Middleton forced host Ian Stafford to perform ten press ups on stage.

Elsewhere considerable funds were raised for the NSPCC via a raffle, silent auction, pledge and an auction held by former world 400m relay champion Derek Redmond.

Ian Stafford, Chairman & Founder of The Sporting Club and our host for the evening

Katarina Johnson-Thompson accepts The Sporting Club Sportswoman of the year Award on location.

Brian McFadden brings a packed house down with his acoustic rendition of 'Flying without Wings'

The Cricket World Cup has pride of place on stage.

Siya Kolisi accepts The Sporting Club International Sports Star of the Year Award.

John Barnes enjoys a snap with Sporting Club members Pat Lewis & Mohit Pasricha

Danny Rose, The Sporting Club Influencer of the Year Award winner.

Ben Stokes accepts The Sporting Club Sportsman of the Year Award on location.

The Paralympic gold medallist Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson presents, The Sporting Club Awards Olympian of the Year Award.

Jurgen Klopp wins The Sporting Club Coach of the Year Award.

Brian McFadden brings out his comical side, entertaining and delighting the audience!

Derek Redmond goes into supercharged auctioneer mode, raising vital funds for the NSPCC.

Hannah Cockroft is our Disabled Sports Person of the Year Award Winner, presented by Ant Middleton and sponsored by Charlotte Ricard-Quesada of La Fête.

Max Whitlock presents The Sporting Club Comeback of the Year Award to Liverpool FC.

Dame Katherine Grainger presents The Sporting Club Team of the Year Award to the England Cricket Team for their World Cup Win.

Mike Tindall accepts The Sporting Club Sporting moment of the Year on behalf of the England Rugby Team for the Haka response.

Eoin Morgan presents The Sporting Club Sportswoman of the Year Award to Katarina Johnson-Thompson.

Eoin Morgan receives The Sporting Club Team of the Year Award on behalf of The England ODI Team, presented by Dame Katherine Grainger & sponsor Ashley Turing of Livetree.

Christine Ohuruogu and Pat Lewis of Source One Associates present The Sporting Club Sportsman of the Year Award.

Zinzan Brooke former number 8 All Black.

Zinzan Brooke & Sean Downs of Sean Downs Wealth Management present The Sporting Club international Sports Star of the year Award.

Nick Knowles